Mon, Sep 25, 2023

INEC declares Ali of APC winner of Katsina Bye-Election

INEC declares Ali of APC winner of Katsina Bye-Election

The independent National Electoral Commission  (INEC) has declared Mansur Ali of the All Progressives Congress, APC, as the winner of the bye-election conducted in Mashi/Dutsi Federal Constituency.

Hudu Ayuba, the Returning Officer to the election, who announced the results in Mashi on Sunday, said APC won the election with 27,968 votes.

He said Nazif Yusuf of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP scored 19,451 votes while Kabir Abdullahi of the Peoples Redemption Party, PRP polled 332 votes.

He announced that the total registered voters in the Constituency were 135,571,  while 51,576 voters were accredited for the election.

Ayuba said of the the total 50,084 votes cast 47,751 were valid whilemail 2,333 were rejected.

He thanked all those who  participated for the success of the exercise. Abubakar Abdullahi, the agent of PDP candidate, described the election as free and fair, stressing that  it was the unanimous decision of the electorate and no one could change it.

The election followed the death of  Sani Bello who was representing the Condtituency.


Be the first to comment on this post

Leave a Reply

Similar Story