Mon, Oct 02, 2023

INEC declares PDP's Adeleke winner of Osun West Senatorial bye-election

INEC declares PDP's Adeleke winner of Osun West Senatorial bye-election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)  on Sunday announced Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP as the winner of the Osun West Senatorial bye-election.

The election was  held in 10  local government areas making up the district.

The winner, who is the younger brother of the late Isiaka Adeleke, had 97, 480 votes to defeat a former Senator, Mudashiru Hussein of the APC,  who had 66, 116 votes,

Announcing the result in Iwo, the Osun West Senatorial headquarters, Baritor Kpagih, INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner for the bye-election, said Adeleke won nine out of the 10 local government areas where the election was held.

He consequently returned Adeleke as Senator to complete the tenure of his brother who died on April 23.

Adeleke would represent the Senatorial district till 2019 when another election would be conducted.

Although 12 political parties contested in the bye- election, the two major contenders were the APC and PDP.

He gave the breakdown of the election result as follows:

Iwo Local Government: APC-12,205 PDP-12,547

Olaoluwa Local Government: APC 5,316 PDP 5,618

Ayedire Local Government: APC 5,360 PDP 5,789

Ejigbo Local Government: APC 12,229 PDP 9,723

Irewole Local Government: APC 8,952 PDP 9,096

Ede North Local Government: APC 2,784 PDP 18,559

Ede South Local Government: APC 2,096 PDP 13,406

Ayedaade Local Government: APC 7179 PDP 9,061

Egbedore Local Government: APC 4,768 PDP 7,142

Isokan Local Government: APC 5227 PDP 6,539


Be the first to comment on this post

Leave a Reply

Similar Story