Mon, Oct 02, 2023

Obaseki to commissioners: You are appointed to serve, not to make money

Obaseki to commissioners: You are appointed to serve, not to make money

Edo Governor, Godwin Obaseki on Thursday swore-in 18 commissioners, saying that "there is no room for corruption in his administration’’.

Addressing the commissioners made up of 15 males and 3 females at Government House, Benin, the governor said their appointment was a call to service and not to make money or accumulate wealth.

He said the commissioners were nominated by their various local government councils and they should live up to the confidence reposed on them.

“We expect that you live above board, your confirmation by the Edo House of Assembly goes to show that you were found worthy to serve the state.

“This is the time to build institutions, it is not a time to think about self, but to work for the common good of the people.

“Bring your experiences to bear and treat staff with respect and follow laid down rules,’’ he said.

Obaseki urged the commissioners to come up with innovative solutions that would help increase internally generated revenue in the state.

The governor also tasked them on loyalty, accountability and to key into the ICT initiative of the present administration.

Giving a vote of thanks on behalf of other commissioners, Osagie Inegbedion‎, appreciated the governor for the opportunity given to them to serve.

Inegbedion said that their appointment was a call to service, saying “we are committed to serve’’.

The Commissioners are Yekini Idaiye (Akoko-Edo), Paul Ohonbamu (Egor)‎, E. Agbale (Esan-Central), Emmanuel Usoh (Esan North-East), Magdalene Ohenhen (Esan South-East) and Amiolemen Osahon (Esan-West).

Others are Joseph Ugheoke‎ (Etsako-Central), Mika Amonokha (Etsako-East), Mariam Abubakar (Etsako-West),‎ Osagie Inegbedion‎ (Igueben), Erimona Oye‎ (Ikpoba-Okha) and Yinka Omoregbe‎ (Oredo). Also sworn-in were Osaze Osemwegie-Ero (Orhionmwon), Monday Osaigbovo (Ovia North-East), Christopher Adesotu (Ovia South-West), Jimoh Ijegbai‎ (Owan-East), Okun Reginald (Owan-West) and David Osifo‎ (Uhunmwode).


Be the first to comment on this post

Leave a Reply

Similar Story