Wed, Oct 04, 2023

We expect you to surpass the gains recorded by INEC, Senate tells new RECs

We expect you to surpass the gains recorded by INEC, Senate tells new RECs

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of eight Resident Electoral Commissioners (REC).

They are Asmanu Maikudi from Katsina, Sam Olumekun from Ondo, Riskuwa Shehu from Sokoto, Kassim Geidam from Yobe and Jibrin Zarewa from Kano.

Also confirmed by the Senate are Samuel Egwu from Kogi, Mike Igini from Delta and Abdulganiyu  Raji from Oyo.

The Senate however, stepped down confirmation of Rufus Akeju from Lagos, Mahmuda Isah from Kebbi and Ahmad Mahmud from Zamfara.

It also rejected the nomination of Mustapha Zubairu of Niger on the ground that he came from the same geo-political zone with Mohammed Haruna, the Federal Commissioner, representing North Central in INEC.

The development followed the report of the Committee on Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) presented by its Chairman, Suleiman Nazif.

The decision by the Senate to step down the confirmation of Akeju followed a Point-of-Order raised by the Deputy Minority Whip, Biodun Olujimi, on a court judgment against his appointment.

Displaying a copy of the judgment, she warned that confirming the nominee would amount to a negation of the powers of the Judiciary.

On the nominees from Kebbi and Zamfara, the Senate said that there were issues on their cases that needed to be further investigated.

President of the Senate, Bukola Saraki, charged the successful nominees to contribute their quota to transform election process in the country.

"The newly confirmed Resident Electoral Commissioners are people of high integrity, disciplined and full of patriotism.

"So, we expect that the gains recorded by INEC in the previous elections should be surpassed."


Be the first to comment on this post

Leave a Reply

Similar Story