Tue, Oct 03, 2023

INEC repositions National Commissioners for better operations

INEC repositions National Commissioners for better operations

The process of building a strong and virile electoral body, is that which must be constanly oiled considering the latest development from the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC. The commission said it had reconstituted its Standing Committees and defined States of supervision for National Commissioners of the commission. It announced this in its daily bulletin issued on Friday in Abuja.

The committees are Appointments, Promotions and Disciplinary Committee (APDC) to be headed by Baba Arfo (North-East), Survey and Technical Equipment Acquisition Committee, chaired by Mohammed Haruna (North-Central).

Electoral Operations and Logistics Committee (EOLC) has Amina Zakari (North-West) as chairman, Board of Electoral Institute (BEI), with Okechukwu Ibeanu (South-East) as chairman.

Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central) will head Election Observation and Party Monitoring Committee (EPMC), Adekunle Ogunmola (South-West), Outreach and Partnerships Committee (OPC) and Abubakar Nahuche (North-West), Works and Transport Committee (EWTC).

Legal Services, Clearance and Complaints Committee (LSCCC) has May Agbamuche-Mbu (South-South) as chairman, Ahmed Mu’azu (North-East), Tenders Board (TB) and Adedeji Soyebi (South-West), Information and Voter Education Committee (IVEC).

Others are Planning, Monitoring and Strategy Committee (PMSC) to be headed by Okechukwu Ibeanu (South-East) and Health and Welfare Committee (HWC), with Muhammed Lecky (South-South) as chairman.

The bulletin also stated that INEC Chairman, Mahmood Yakubu, would chair three committees – Finance and General Purpose Committee (FGPC), Information Technology and Voter Registry Committee (ITVRC) and Security Committee (SC).

On the states of supervision for National Commissioners, the commission disclosed that Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine would oversee Kaduna, Niger, Plateau and Federal Capital Territory (FCT) while Baba Arfo would supervise Yobe, Gombe and Bauchi.

“Amina Zakari as supervisor for Zamfara, Sokoto and Kebbi, Adedeji Soyebi will supervise Ekiti and Osun while Muhammed Lecky will be in charge of Cross River, Akwa-Ibom and Delta.

“Abubakar Nahuche will supervise Katsina, Jigawa and Kano; Mohammed Haruna for Kwara, Kogi and Nasarawa while Ahmed Mu’azu supervises Adamawa, Taraba and Borno.’’

It added that Okechukwu Ibeanu would surpervise Imo, Abia and Ebonyi, Adekunle Ogunmola, Lagos, Ogun and Ondo and May Agbamuche-Mbu, Edo, Rivers and Bayelsa.

The bulletin was silent on a supervisor for Benue, Enugu and Anambra.


Be the first to comment on this post

Leave a Reply

Similar Story